Cluster Blocks Read Only Allow Delete
The cluster blocks writes but still allows delete operations. Indexing stops while space can be reclaimed by deleting indices or documents.
For a complete list of insights, refer to AutoOps insights.
| Field | Value |
|---|---|
| Component | Elasticsearch |
| Severity | High |
| Scope | Cluster |
| Domains | cluster-health |
The following is an example of what you might see when this insight is triggered. Real insights use live data and links from your deployment or cluster.
No description available.
AutoOps shows different recommendations depending on how their conditions match your deployment or cluster.
Clear cluster read-only block
Condition: Shown when enough disk space.
Clear the cluster read-only block so indexing can resume. Use the action below, or set cluster.blocks.read_only to null in cluster settings.
PUT _cluster/settings
{
"transient": {
"cluster.blocks.read_only": null
},
"persistent": {
"cluster.blocks.read_only": null
}
}
Requires the manage cluster privilege. Requires Elasticsearch 8.0.0 or later. This action changes cluster or index configuration.
Free disk before clearing read-only block
Condition: Shown when not enough disk space.
The cluster hit the low disk watermark. Increase disk space or delete old indices before you clear the read-only block. Deleting indices is permanent; confirm backups first.
Impact: When this setting is set to true, indexing is blocked and this will prevent your cluster from storing new data. The setting 'cluster.blocks.read_only_allow delete' is currently set to true, which means indexing is blocked and only delete operations are available. This block might have been applied automatically by the cluster due to a disk space issue, or it might have been applied manually by an operator to prevent indexing to the cluster.